Is Losing Really Such a Bad Thing?

images

 

Lately, I’ve been watching a lot of movies involving the bitter taste of defeat. Two of those movies are “Invictus” and “Rocky”, but let’s talk about “Invictus.” At the beginning of the movie, the team was doing terribly in every game they played. They were fed up with it, fed up with disappointing their loved ones, themselves, and their country. Then this one powerful scene was shown, where the captain of the team was talking to his teammates and coaches after a huge loss. He told everyone as they drank, “Drink this beverage with the memory of this loss in your mind. Remember this moment, and engrave it in your heart. Remember this bitter taste of defeat. Then swear to yourself that you will never taste it again.” And this one simple scene just stuck with me for the rest of the week. It motivated me to keep trying no matter how much I’m kicked down.

Lately I’ve been feeling like everything I’ve planned has gone terribly wrong, and that my world has been crashing down. And it broke me completely. I did nothing for weeks, just pretending to be happy in front of my friends and family and living life like a hollow shell. I thought I lost my purpose in life, my motivation. My grades weren’t where I wanted them to be, my loved one was gone forever, and everything just seemed to be against me. I had a good friend to tell me that everything was going to be all right. She made me laugh, and made me feel genuinely happy at times. She rose me from a hellish place and made me feel safe and secure. I lost the urge to end it all. And now I’m almost back to normal, and working harder than ever to be happy so that I’ll never go through that again. I’ve regained my stride and motivation to get a 4.4 weighted GPA, remain in Honors Society, and get into UCLA with a Chemistry major.

What should be pulled out of all of this is that sometimes it’s necessary to hit rock bottom in order to know what you truly want, in order to be truly happy. Taste that bitter taste of defeat and hopelessness, and remember it forever. Your past shapes who you are as a person today, whether you realize it or not. It’s up to you as to how you handle your problems, whether negatively or positively. Choose to handle your problems positively. If you do, you’ll realize that losing everything is not the end of the world. Take some mental notes on what you did wrong, and work hard to prevent it from happening again. Because if you handle your problems well, you can turn that taste of defeat into that of victory.

Leave a Reply

